As I turned fourteen that year
My grandma gifted me
some soft gold A pashmina
All gold and silver just like
Heavens above emnating peace

As nights grew darker
I would crawl inside it
And its warmth rendered
Calmness to the rattled soul

I wondered of hands that
had woven love
And the music it had encased
Soft faint cooing of dove

Endless nights I had slept
Wrapped into it and
Dreamt of snow gently
Kissing those leaves of chinar
 
But,
Just today when I tried to
cuddle inside it
I felt numbness sweeping
Over my soul….
I saw stains of blood
I heard screams

My dreams are not of
Snow kissing chinars
But I see heaven burning
And I know my pashmina
Is’nt what it was before

Leave a Reply

